25 March 2019

Eclipse VII – 2011

Upon their return from the 2009 Global Green Challenge, Eclipse members had only one idea in mind: to participate in the 2011 World Solar Challenge with a better vehicle. They have therefore got their hands dirty and created the new generation of the vehicle: Eclipse 7.

The Eclipse 7 car had three wheels and reached a top speed of 107 km / h. It was composed of a vacuum molded carbon fiber. Its wheel-motor, located behind the pilot, was manufactured by the team, a brushless motor, synchronous AC three-phase, with Csiro magnets. It was connected to a Tritium motor controller and powered by 40 kg of LiFePo4 batteries that offered a maximum current of 420 amps. In order to recharge the battery, Eclipse 7 relied on 403 solar cells made of silicon and built by Sunpower.

From a mechanical point of view, the car had everything to compete with the world's largest solar car teams: increased aerodynamics, a three-wheel independent suspension system, Michelin tires designed specifically for solar cars, and a rack and pinion steering.

Eclipse 7 was a very good car, however, its weight (too heavy at 285 kg) made it difficult to compete with the best teams. In addition the extreme weather conditions (fires and intense winds) caused a surprise to the team. As a result, during the 2011 World Solar Challenge competition in Australia, the team finished 27th out of 35 teams.

The experience gained on the field and the discussions / exchanges with students from other countries made the team members come back with interesting knowledge. 

To learn more, check out the Eclipse 7 blog by clicking here.

  • Highlights:
    • 27th place at the World Solar Challenge in Australia
    • Top speed: 107 km / h
    • Vacuum molded carbon fiber hull
    • Brushless motor, synchronous three-phase alternator, with magnets Csiro
    • 40 kg LiFePo4 batteries (5000 Wh)
    • 403 solar cells


List of members

Patrick Filion, Captain

Yannick Chabanne, Treasurer

Simon Bernier, Electrical Lead

Noël Giguère, Mechanical Lead

Marc-Olivier Arsenault, IT Lead

Iosif Onofrei

Marie-José St-Onge

Érika Deypalubos

Luc-Antoine Boulanger

Pascal Lapointe

William Coady

Marc-André Roy

Marc Gaudreault

Frédéric Nadeau

Marc-Antoine Bazinet